Since we are in a holding pattern with the adoption process, waiting for word from accross the Atlantic, I thought I would share a couple of testimonies about Autumn and Eli from the past.  This first one is about Autumn and took place on our December 2006 trip to Disney.  I originally shared this in devotional form with our Cedarmore/Crossings Staff:

Philippians 2:3-4, “Do nothing from rivalry or selfish conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.  Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

As Christians, we are called to live our lives in service as modeled by Jesus who “came not to be served but to serve.”  Our second core value as an organization is our commitment to relate to people by identifying and meeting their needs.  The quality that will most often render this commitment sterile is selfishness.  I have been growing increasingly aware of how frequently my first unspoken question concerning any given set of circumstances is, “How does this affect me?”

I witnessed a first hand display of unselfishness by our 8 year daughter, Autumn.  Over the Christmas break we spent a week at Disney in Orlando.  One of the highlights for Autumn was to see Beauty and the Beast on stage.  We arrived so early for the show, that we were the first people in line.  As we were waiting for the hour to pass, one of the cast members (Disney employees) approached us and asked if Autumn would like to be princess for the day.  Autumn, of course, was more than happy to accept the role.  She was to sit in the VIP section with her family as well as receive the rose from the prince at the end of the play.

After we were seated, the ushers located a mentally handicap girl and her mother next to us.  After a bit of conversation we learned that the little girl’s name was Abby and that it was her birthday.  Until you have children of your own, you’ll never know the run of emotions and how your mind processes information in situations that involve your child.  Michelle and I looked at each other with the shared and unspoken thought that Abby would have enjoyed being princess for the day.  As we began to verbalize our thoughts, Autumn inquired about the topic of our conversation.  We simply shared how special it would have been for Abby to have been able to experience the role of princess for the day on her birthday. 

About that time, the show began.  The show was incredible – I love the French accented candlestick when he sings, “Be our guest!  Be our guest!  Put our service to the test!”  I am sure you are all familiar with the end of the story.  Having learned the lesson of his selfishness and experiencing the reciprocal love of Belle, Beast turns back into the prince he was before the curse.  At that point, Autumn was ushered to the stage to be handed the rose from the glass jar by the prince himself!

What a thrill for Autumn to experience a live performance of one of her favorite stories – and to be handed the rose from the prince in front of hundreds of people!  It was truly a memorable experience for her.  And for me as well… when Autumn was guided back to her seat, she handed the rose to Abby and wished her a happy birthday.  Abby lit up like a Christmas tree.  Her mom handed to rose back to Autumn thinking that she only wanted to show off her prize.  Admittedly, as her father, I wanted, for a split second, for Autumn to keep the rose.  After all, it represented a significant experience in her life.  However, she insisted that it was a birthday gift for Abby.

This morning, in the midst of a selfish fit, I reminded Autumn of her display of unselfishness with Abby.  As it turns out, the rose continues to represent a significant event.  The event was an act of selflessness.  On reflection, I am forced to ask myself what my rose is.  What are the things that I hold as dear and significant?  What do I have in my possession that, if given away, will bring joy and blessing to others?  When I practice this selflessness, I often find those things can continue to serve me well even though I no longer have control of them.  I believe I heard someone refer to this concept as having an abundance mentality.

To conclude, it is my prayer that as individuals we will be sensitive to the opportunities around us to give of ourselves.   As a ministry, that we would grasp on a new level the significance of our role to invest in our staff and guests.  To serve them is why our ministry exists.  It is exhausting work – but the dividends grow exponentially.  So today, consider others more significant that yourself by giving them your rose.”